Tips For Winter Handling Training (no equipment needed!)

February 7, 2012 at 12:09 am 36 comments

 Keeping your handling skills sharp over the winter months

Many of us give our dogs an agility break in the winter time as our equipment is packed away and the snow/ice can seem to prevent us from keeping up our training.  In the spring, I often hear comments like “she hasn’t done agility in a few months, and she’s crazy!” or “this is the first time my dog has seen equipment this year so I’m not expecting much.” This is usually followed by some disastrous runs in which the dog seems to have forgotten all of the skills and handling they previously knew before the break. What we forget is that we can still keep our handling skills sharp without having access to agility equipment.

 My dogs do get a break in the winter from training as much on equipment,  but I want to make sure that we both maintain our handling skills during this time so that when we get back into training neither of us has gotten “rusty” during the break.  It’s not just our dogs that have trouble getting back into the swing of things after a long break. Reaction time for the handler is just as important to maintain as the dog’s reaction to our signals. By practicing your flat handling without equipment, both you and your dog can practice these skills without the repetitive impact of jumping etc. Don’t have much space? No problem! By being a bit creative, you can create fun games to practice your handling skills without using much space.

Here’s two of my favourite winter handling games:

Sending around trees:

Okay, so if the snow is deep you may not be doing this one but it’s great for a mild winter! This is one of my all time favourite training games that I started with my sheltie Mikki 11 years ago as a way to exercise him in the backyard. I now use trees to help my dogs learn to work away from me as well as learn to read my body language that they will see in agility. By adding more trees into your “sequence” you can practice your timing on the handling manoeuvres as well as adding some speed in for your dog without the added challenge of jumping. 

Here’s a quick video of Heist doing some tree work.  I make some mistakes in my timing, but that’s what this exercise is for! It also helps me evaluate how his straight lines and turns are coming along without using and jumps.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TBTWptYX4M8

Sending around the coffee table:

I created this one for my BC puppy Heist to work on simple send work inside the house. It started with me simply stepping towards the outside of the coffee table and then rewarding him when he went around it. I then added a front cross as he was coming around the final corner which not only works on his reaction to the front cross but also practices my timing (I try to time my turn as he is coming around the edge of the table). I also practiced some tighter circles that didn’t involve him going around the table. This way he has to watch for my leg to step forward in order to send around the table. 

I hope this blog gives you some ideas of handling games you can play with your dog over the winter months.

 Thanks for reading and happy training!

 Jess Martin of Agile Dog Training

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

5 Tips for Making Your Agility Dog Run Faster What goes through your mind on the start line?

36 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brenda Boyd  |  February 7, 2012 at 2:25 am

    great ideas Jess thanks

    Brenda

    Reply
  • 2. pawsitivespirit  |  February 14, 2012 at 11:28 pm

    Nice work Jess!

    Reply
  • Wow that was odd. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after
    I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr…
    well I’m not writing all that over again. Regardless, just wanted to
    say great blog!

    Reply
  • 4. dumex china recall  |  June 23, 2014 at 2:51 pm

    I must thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this
    blog. I really hope to check out the same high-grade blog posts
    by you in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing
    abilities has inspired me to get my own website now 😉

    Reply
  • 5. durl.me  |  June 23, 2014 at 4:42 pm

    I was suggested this web site via my cousin. I
    am now not sure whether or not this post is written by him as nobody else realize such special about
    my trouble. You’re wonderful! Thanks!

    – cliquez ici
    – cliquez ici
    – cliquez ici
    – cliquez ici
    – cliquez ici
    – cliquez ici

    Reply
  • 6. Najlepsze Gry Siódemki na pieniądze  |  June 25, 2014 at 8:36 pm

    Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically
    tweet my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for
    a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe
    you would have some experience with something like this.
    Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward
    to your new updates.

    Reply
  • Does your website have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d like to
    shoot you an email. I’ve got some creative ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing.

    Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it grow over time.

    Reply
  • 8. should i invest in precious metals  |  July 1, 2014 at 12:34 pm

    There are numerous ETF’s that spend money on organizations that nearly mine gold.

    You should ask your financial advisor to tell the
    names of relevant dealers. Checking out different mints and dealers is the best way to begin.

    Reply
  • 9. tumblr.com  |  July 3, 2014 at 1:05 am

    I am regular visitor, how are you everybody?
    This post posted at this website is in fact pleasant.

    Reply
  • 10. www.youtube.com  |  July 5, 2014 at 5:34 pm

    However, there is a limited period for the second appeal.

    A driver can be impaired even if alcohol is not the drug which
    includes impeded the decision making of the individual. It is not always necessary to conduct multiple initial
    consultations as long as the attorney and
    firm meet your specifications and you are comfortable with the
    decision.

    Reply
  • 11. lengthen the member  |  July 5, 2014 at 6:39 pm

    Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The words in your content seem to be running off the screen in Chrome.
    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.

    The layout look great though! Hope you get the issue
    fixed soon. Kudos

    Reply
  • 12. http://www.jz4yourjuiceplus.com/  |  July 5, 2014 at 9:45 pm

    We stumbled over here from a different web address and
    thought I may as well check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you.
    Look forward to checking out your web page again.

    Reply
  • 13. Blake  |  July 6, 2014 at 9:00 am

    But now, and to figure out the lowest rate for just such an early payout before the expiry period of time,
    life insurance but the factors that will underwrite a vaper differently than regular wages.
    All of these policies require consumers to understand why there are ways of locating
    people that make many sacrifices, both in and provide.
    Cash ValueIn contrast with other life insurance policies after
    speaking to Lisa, how will you seek. You
    can begin your repayment.

    Reply
  • 14. como curar la eyaculaci򬟰recoz naturalmente  |  July 23, 2014 at 11:01 pm

    como curar la eyaculaci򬟰recoz naturalmente

    Tips For Winter Handling Training (no equipment needed!) | Agile Dog Training

    Reply
  • 15. www.loveformusic.it  |  July 25, 2014 at 12:38 pm

    They also wood don’t need that sort of vibe, but I’ve been made easier with
    help of the seat assembly pallet. Try this simple exercise, stand by the
    Fair Boundaries, is a solid grasp of the three.

    Reply
  • 16. Estelle  |  July 25, 2014 at 7:25 pm

    You may observe that there are clearly significant differences between Skype in a meeting room and a traditional video conference area.
    If needed, click on it twice to display the most memory-hungry
    processes on top Make sure that you click on “Display processes from all users” to get the whole picture Make a not of
    the name of the process that is eating up your memory.

    First of all, you need to understand that if your
    computer is really low on RAM to run certain programs, then you
    will constantly be having issues and freeze-ups.

    Reply
  • 17. Raymond  |  August 15, 2014 at 5:56 am

    I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but
    your sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark
    your website to come back later on. All the best

    Reply
  • 18. Twitxr.Com  |  August 26, 2014 at 9:44 am

    Every weekend i used to go to see this web page, for the reason that i want enjoyment, since this
    this website conations actually pleasant funny material too.

    Reply
  • 19. Dominick  |  August 26, 2014 at 10:04 pm

    Turning the page over, you can see a little show through.
    * Dynamic memories (DRAM, Dynamic Random Access Module), not very costly.
    Tablet PCs are devices that provide Personal Communications Service (PCs).

    Reply
  • 20. prepseoulmusic.com  |  August 28, 2014 at 8:24 pm

    Most of the baby. Pregnancy test kits come with an expensive and accurate result.
    You can take between 3 and ectopic pregnancy 10 minutes later, after you’ve
    finished testing. Spin down at 5000 rpm for 10 minutes, and
    I had was fatigue! We ectopic pregnancy exit the building and take a pregnancy you are pregnant?
    Send a picture of a urine pregnancy test first thing in the park and parking lot and other cities.

    Reply
  • 21. Roosevelt  |  August 29, 2014 at 5:01 pm

    Wow, that’s what I was exploring for, what a information! existing here at
    this blog, thanks admin of this web site.

    Reply
  • 22. http://aboutcommonwealth.moonfruit.com/  |  August 31, 2014 at 9:34 am

    The clinic portion, run by Revolution Academy coaches, will feature Revs players as celebrity coaches
    and will be followed by a Q&A and autograph session. After he got
    a divorce, he left town and started a new life,
    finally meeting a really nice girl who he proposed to.
    So if your yard work is getting you down, call
    us today for a quote on the best synthetic turf on the market.

    Reply
  • 23. early pregnancy test  |  September 1, 2014 at 12:13 pm

    The urine bumps on the control zone should immediately talk to the warzone.
    The online test includes a dropper and wait the two types the Certainty Digital Home Pregnancy TestsPregnancy detection using home pregnancy kit is its price.
    Insert your test result, even if it’s only Day 15 or 16.

    Still, you will also find out if you experience
    any delayed menstruation.

    Reply
  • 24. mossers shoe shop 62704  |  September 2, 2014 at 12:16 pm

    And if we actually updated our springfield shoe
    carnival site about a dozen men from Minnesota are fighting with ISIS in Syria, say Mizunos or any movement on skate.

    Reply
  • 25. agree with  |  September 4, 2014 at 4:34 am

    Hello! I’ve been following your blog for some time now and finally
    got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Humble Tx!
    Just wanted to mention keep up the great work!

    Reply
  • 26. collier anti aboiement pour petit chien occasion  |  September 22, 2014 at 5:30 pm

    I have learn several excellent stuff here. Definitely
    worth bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how much attempt you put
    to make such a excellent informative website.

    Reply
  • 27. infinity blade 3 cheats  |  October 19, 2014 at 1:10 am

    Greate pieces. Keep writing such kind of info on your blog.
    Im really impressed by it.
    Hey there, You’ve done a fantastic job. I will definitely digg
    it and in my opinion suggest to my friends.

    I am sure they will be benefited from this website.

    Reply
  • 28. billboard hot 100 singles  |  December 5, 2015 at 2:34 pm

    Right now it looks like Drupal is the top blogging platform available right now.
    (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

    Reply
  • 29. stfisher.com  |  January 6, 2016 at 2:24 am

    Hi there, everything is going sound here and ofcourse every one is sharing facts, that’s actually fine, keep up
    writing.

    Reply
  • 30. andamanmuaythai  |  February 13, 2016 at 5:15 am

    I do not even understand how I finished up here,
    but I believed this post was once great. I do not recognize who you might be but certainly you’re going to a well-known blogger
    in the event you are not already. Cheers!

    Reply
  • I think the admin of this site is really working hard in
    support of his site, since here every stuff is quality
    based data.

    Reply
  • 32. Elma  |  June 21, 2016 at 6:20 pm

    Massage therapy chairs are usually certainly not that small,
    so you must make certain that you could discover free space for this.

    Reply
  • 33. astronomycommunication.com  |  September 11, 2016 at 5:40 pm

    I’m extremely pleased to uncover this great site. I
    want to to thank you for your time just for this wonderful read!!
    I definitely savored every part of it and I have you saved to fav to look at new
    stuff on your web site.

    Reply
  • 34. allfuntour  |  September 13, 2016 at 2:57 am

    Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification seemed to be
    on the web the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get irked while people consider worries that they just do not know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the
    whole thing without having side-effects , people could take a signal.
    Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

    Reply
  • 35. Estella  |  January 20, 2017 at 5:41 am

    Die Shape Caps eignen sich zur Unterstützung innerhalb einer kalorienreduzierten Ernährung und können zum Erreichen des körperlichen Ziels Body Shaping beitragen. http://210.59.17.7/~train/userinfo.php?uid=187972

    Reply
  • 36. http://telefondagis.se/  |  March 28, 2017 at 1:36 am

    http://telefondagis.se/

    Tips For Winter Handling Training (no equipment needed!) | Agile Dog Training

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 157 other followers


