Never Give Up

August 14, 2013 at 9:01 pm 2 comments

I came across this video today and well, it completely captured my heart.

It was like I was watching my own agility journey unfold before my eyes!

 When I started my first competitions with Mikki, he would often shut down on me or get distracted part way through his run. I remember one competition where he knocked a bar and actually ran back to the car and put himself back into his crate! Yes, there were moments where I thought of giving up on the whole thing. Moments where I was so frustrated that success seemed impossible.

But I didn’t give up.

Back then I struggled to make SCT with him. I was thrilled if we were a few seconds under the time allowed. But as I kept working to motivate my dog and improve my handling something amazing started to happen. We started to come together as a team and Mikki started to get faster on course! To the point where we were now running 20 seconds under course time! This was the start of many accomplishments for us, Mikki went on to win the AAC National Championships twice, and compete at the FCI World Championships for 3 consecutive years.  A huge turn around for a dog that would trot around the agility course!

So if you’re at the point where I was at, don’t give up! With heart and determination you can bring out the best in your dog even if others don’t see it.

“Sometimes adversity is what you need to face in order to become successful.” ~Zig Ziglar~

Keep pushing forward my friends, the end result is well worth it!

Happy Training Jess Martin of Agile Dog Training

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Finding your “why?” Building confidence in your performance dog

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shammy  |  August 14, 2013 at 9:07 pm

    What an inspiring story- thanks for sharing !!!

    Reply
  • 2. Michelle  |  August 14, 2013 at 9:51 pm

    That was so heartwearming, I totally believe that there is something in every dog, you just need to find the what and do it!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 157 other followers


